Introducing New York

Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty

For me New York is exciting, new, unique, vast, and challenging as well as natural, comfortable, normal, and most importantly our new home.  We moved here about 1 1/2 months ago and each new day brings revelations and quirks about this amazing world unto itself.  I plan for this blog is simply to share my point of view, my adventures and misadventures alike through photos and stories, as well as to dispel some of the ridiculous myths you might hear about living here (there are a lot of myths).  Lets start with some basic information to describe the intimacy and enormity of the city.

We are both large and small.

There are about 8,214,426 people living on the 301 square miles of the five boroughs where 5.1 million people ride the 26 subway lines each weekday on the 835 miles of track. Not to mention the 45.6 million people who visited New York in 2009 also crowding our streets every day. (stats courtesy of nycgo.com)

Each borough is like it’s own city an each neighborhood within it has it’s own name, pride, and staunch supporters. Within 10 blocks from my apartment you can find multiple delis, pizza places, dry cleaners, laundry mats, grocery stores, a wide range of restaurants, several religious worship centers from a catholic church to an Islamic worship center, a city park, a Costco, 2 liquor stores, several buses, 2 train stops, and so much more.  I could theoretically live in this city without ever leaving my neighborhood because if for some reason I can’t find what I’m looking for in walking distance (and even if I can) everyone delivers. I don’t mean the pizza places I mean everyone. I can call my pharmacy down the street and they will bring me cold medicine, or I can call the burger stand and they will bring me a burger… same goes for groceries and housewares.  Yet I relish the opportunity to go out and find what I’m looking for (unless it’s too heavy or too cold of course).

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing New York

  1. Pingback: thank you friday: 111111 | Clarissa Explains New York

  2. Pingback: central park. an ode. | Clarissa Explains New York

Leave a Reply

