Sometimes the subway conductor yells at us…

Train approaching

Train approaching

Normally, a pre-recorded male voice comes over the speaker and instructs passengers to Stand clear of the closing doors please (and perhaps this is only an option in certain train models) but the conductor can still give his or her own instructions as far as I can tell. And on my commute home during rush hour it seems I often end up in a train where too many people try to crowd in and end up blocking the doors and inevitably delaying the train. The all seeing eye that is the conductor seems to always know when this is and can push the button asking us to kindly “stand clear of the closing doors please” or they can tell us what they really think. I’ve heard such niceties as:

People! use all available doors!

The train is running every 3 minutes during rush hour, you don’t all need to get on THIS train!!!

DON’T BLOCK THE DOOR!

I suppose it must be pretty frustrating dealing with so many people all trying to get somewhere as fast as possible as if our lives depended on it. It’s very much a mob mentality that even I find myself getting drawn into. Here are some of the things I’ve caught myself doing, thinking or vying for:

  • try to be the first one to enter a train
  • must memorize where doors open on platform and stand there tomorrow
  • must get seat
  • must not just get seat but must get seat by exit
  • must beat crowd of hundreds to stairwell
  • must figure out which exit/entrance will be shortest walk to stairs
  • walk faster
  • how fast can I get from this train to that train
  • why am I stuck behind slow-poke
  • if I weave through the crowd will I get there faster
  • must not get knocked down by crazy mob rushing to next train
  • stupid train only comes every 7 minutes!
  • why are all these people in MY way?!

Even the best of us fall victim to… Subway anxiety? The crazy is endless. As a result today I made a conscious effort to slow down & smell the roses. I snapped a few shots which I’ll upload later. I can’t guarantee that I won’t blindly try to beat the crowd to the platform again but I didn’t today.

*************************************************

Just a quick observation on the snow…

Yesterday as I was watching the local weather report I heard the say that this year we have received approximately 4 times the average snowfall for the entire year. I know I am new to this but that made me really sad. The thought that next year might be a “normal” year and I won’t enjoy so much snow just sounded depressing. But then again perhaps by next year I will be immune to the beauty and romance affiliated with snow and see it the way almost every other New Yorker I know does. At first its nice but when it sticks and keeps coming they commiserate over the way it might hinder their commute, the dirty future it is bound to bear, the melting and re-freezing that inevitably happens over night leading to a slick sidewalk, the mud-like slush that accumulates in at street crosswalks and the hazards of walking under awnings covered in snow or worse icicles. Eh. who knows but for now the pretty snow is falling again. Today it’s even mixed with some rain but I don’t care. We are expecting 7-8 inches by morning so I’ll leave a little earlier, tuck my jeans into my boots and enjoy.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

