Previewing Spring.

Spring tulips 2009

Last week I had a  panicked moment as I was getting ready to go to work. The weatherman on my morning news show said it was 51 degrees out – at 7:30 in the morning!!! Now I can dress for below freezing with my eyes closed but suddenly the prospect of a “warm” day threw me off. Did I need as many layers as I was used to? Did I have any shorter sleeved shirts (that I actually wanted to wear) in my closet or were they all in the closet I use for storage of summer clothes? That’s right I have an entire closet stocked to the gills with things I could wear nearly year round in Austin but here, not so much. Rather than open that can of worms (closet) I found a light 3-quarter sleeved sweater and put a tank top under it; I ditched the tights under my jeans and chose a very thin scarf. Sure enough it was beautiful outside.

All day in my office I couldn’t break the urge to go out and run around and… I had no clue what I was going to do but I knew it was outside.  And let’s be clear, these sentiments are coming from a self-professed winter-lover! I love layers. I love sweaters. I love snow boots. I love snow. I love owning a scarf in every color of the rainbow. I love knit hats. I love hot coffee. I love walking in snow. I love winter. Yet, the temptation of spring, if even for a day was too much. I am beginning to think I just love seasons? And in New York we appear to have seasons. I am sure that I will eventually tire of the rain when that begins to fall heavily (as I’ve heard it does) but then again I didn’t expect my reaction to the winter or spring so who knows. I might just own an umbrella in every color too? Galoshes galore? I did just find a spectacular new, black, double-breasted, knee-length trench/rain coat!

Spring preview

Spring preview

Much to my enjoyment when I finally did go out after-work on my way to meet my husband in Times Square (our most convenient meeting place) under our sign, I found hordes of young and old filling all the green patches that spent months covered in white. They were wearing shorts and tossing frisbees, baseballs, footballs, anything that flew! They had catcher’s mits, yoga mats and picnic blankets. It seemed that I was not the only one itching to be outside. There were even people enthralled in conversation as they sat on the steps of the library. It was marvelous – and fleeting. Let’s just say that the following day we were back in the twenties and the wind was blowing at 30-50 mph through out the day! Oh and of course then it snowed this week so the fields pictured above are again covered in a white blanket. This all reminded me that on our first trip to New York, April 2009, Spring was in full bloom and that’s when I fell in love with New York – Spring!

Further preview of Spring 2011 with a glance at Spring 2009 below!

Many thanks to My friend Jennifer for sharing her inspiring “bicycle blossoms” as well! I cannot wait to get out on my bicycle bedazzled in floral awesomeness!

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

