Spring Forward and a run!

RFK Bridge viewd from Astoria Park

RFK Bridge viewd from Astoria Park

So, we moved here the last week in October, there were literally 8 days left in the month and the first week in November we entered the “fall back” portion of daylight savings time. It was seriously getting dark at about 4:30-5:0o each afternoon! BUT this past weekend brought the dawn of “Spring Forward” and I didn’t really notice a difference until Monday. As I left work I was in shock at how bright the sky was and as I got home I felt guilty for not staying outside.

So, Wednesday we decided to meet at home, change clothes and set out for a little run. I haven’t run seriously since we moved which is just shameful.  I picked up running last year as a way to get fit and in hopes of running a 1/2 marathon in November, which turned out to be impossible with the timing of our move. With me being out of practice and Paul not being a runner we planned on taking it super easy. In Austin we lived right on the Town Lake Hike & Bike Trail so I could literally walk out of my apartment complex and be on the trail. I had miles and miles of tree lined water-side running at my toe tips; every day I saw hordes of like-minded people out there and the fact that we had water-stations provided by a local running store was unbelievable.

In New York we live near Astoria Park, so we set out for the running track which has an amazing view of the city skyline, the East river, the RFK & Hellgate bridges, and the neighborhood – but it is still a track. The last time I ran on a track someone was timing me, it was a chore, so I have some negative mental associations with the concept of running in a small oval again and again. But I recently started following a blog written by a legally blind man who is training for the Cotswold 100-mile Ultramarathon without a running partner. He memorized all the kinks and quirks of a 3 mile stretch of road and uses Runkeeper (my app of choice) to give him audio cues about distance to help him train alone. I have been so in awe of his dedication and ingenuity that I wasn’t going to let the concept of a track get me down. I was super excited to get out and feel the air and run for the first time ever with my husband by my side! Those 2.2 miles passed very quickly and although the basic scenery didn’t change the people watching was still good. There was one girl sprinting and timing herself with a stopwatch, there were some break-dancers practicing in the center of the track, there was new mother jogging with a stroller, there was a girl wearing ridiculous earrings and makeup, there were people doing chin-ups and push ups on the equipment just outside the track and all in all the level of activity was really very pleasant. I wasn’t winded or tired and I certainly could have gone on much longer but slow and steady wins the race. I got my feet wet and look forward to running again and again. This daylight thing is awesome! I didn’t know I was missing it until it came back!

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

