due to rail construction…

train approaching at Queensborough Plaza
train approaching at Queensborough Plaza

Sometimes when you set out in New York on the Subway you take a few detours. This weekend we wanted to get to SOHO to pick up our Bike New York packets and get what we hoped would be some awesome tacos. Normally we might take the N straight to SOHO and walk to our destination – not this weekend. After a couple of stops on the N, I noticed the destination screen stopped at Queensborough Plaza. curious. Then suddenly at Queensborough Plaza the announcement came on telling us to transfer to the 7 across the platform to get into Manhattan, there would be no Manhattan-bound NQR trains this weekend due to rail construction. We got on the 7 and continued on our way planning to get off at Grand Central Station and transfer to the 6 train which would drop us off at Bleeker St., ideal walking distance to the land of tacos: Fonda Nolita – not this weekend. Another announcement came up letting us know that the 6 train would be running express to the Brooklyn bridge, if we wanted to get off at Bleeker we’d have to ride to the Brooklyn Bridge then ride the local 6 north again – sheesh. So we got off at Union Square and got on an N which dropped us off at Prince Street & Broadway – we only had to walk 5 short blocks east and then up one long one to get to the glorious tacos. I, unfortunately, took us one long block south instead. It was a lovely day, but with hunger weighing heavily on me I was ready to stop at the nearest anything place. So in all it took us 4 trains to get to SOHO plus my poor sense of direction’s extra long block walk. Oddly enough through our extra walk we passed right in front of Eastern Mountain Sports, we were too hungry to stop and take a look but we both agreed we’d go there after breakfast and after we picked up our packets – not realizing that’s where packet pick-up was! 4 months ago I’m not sure I would have made it to SOHO but we’re seasoned subway riders now (at least I like to think I am but of course Paul was with me).

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to due to rail construction…

  1. Pingback: Weekend (over?)Indulgence. | Clarissa Explains New York

Leave a Reply

