I’ve only flown into New York 4 times.

my bridge.

my bridge.

The first time was in April 2009. I came on a business trip to a conference. I’m not the best flier. We chose JetBlue for their direct flights and TV distractions. In my naivete, I freaked out when I noticed we were flying over water before landing at JFK. My husband came along against his wishes. Work paid for my travel expenses and hotel, we sprung for his. We fell in love with the city instantly. We started plotting our life in New York before we landed back in Austin. It was one of those things you dream of, not one of those things that happens.

The 2nd time was in September 2010. Somehow our dreams came true. His work paid for both of our travel expenses and stay. The water out the window before landing was still unsettling. He had to work locally and I had to find us a place to live. I rode  the subway alone for the 1st time. I reveled in the city. I was empowered by the unknown. It happened in a few days. We signed a lease and it was tangible.

The third time was in October 2010. This time his company not only paid for all of our travel and moving costs but they even paid for our cat’s plane ticket. When flying with a pet, you need to remove them from their travel bags and hold them in your arms as you walk through the scanner. Paul carried him it was almost a disaster. I was too concerned with Trouble, our cat to really notice the water out the window. We showed up with a few carry on bags and our doorman already had the FedEx package we’d shipped to ourselves with the new litter box and cat food. The rest of our worldly possessions arrived in an 18-wheeler a couple of days later.

The 4th time was last week. For the 1st time we paid for our own flights. It was a bit surreal. But this is where we live now, this is our home. We flew Delta from San Antonio for the first time. It was the day after our 8 month New Yorkerversary. It was so nice to come home to our home. To find my dishes in the sink and my bridge out the window. As we left Texas, my father said to my husband that we need to do everything and see everything there is here in New York because there’s no way his illness will allow him the opportunity to visit.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

