Fatty’s.

Brunch at Fatty's, June 2011

Brunch at Fatty's, June 2011

My husband was downloading photos from our cameras onto his computer and he said to me that he had no idea where some of the food ones were taken. Yes. We are food-picture-taker-people. I try not to let him use the flash but yes the photo does get snapped. I remembered the spot and told him to which he responded, “we eat out too much.” I agree with this sentiment and yet here we are. I’m posting about fatty’s in Astoria. We were for some reason on a bus in Astoria. We might have been heading to some other brunch spot but jumped out when we saw Fatty’s on a corner. A very unassuming brick building with plain letters reading “Fattys Cafe” out front. The inside was very comforting with heavy wood tones but we opted to eat outside. The hostess walked us out the side door onto the sidewalk and about 20 feet to a tall wood plank gate. It was cozy, less than 10 tables fit back there but then again the inside wasn’t exactly sprawling either.

The dining area outside was draped in white and teal with a steady flow of Led Zeppelin filling the air. It was both a very refreshing feeling and comforting at the same time. I ordered an omelet, my go to breakfast and husband ordered his standard pancakes (if there are no waffles) and bacon. We are a bit too predictable. I realize this.

string of lights.

string of lights.

I’d of course rather have the veggies cooked into the omelet rather than have the egg wrapped around them like a faux tortilla but to my surprise when I asked for a pico-type salsa the waitress brought it right out – fresh jalapeño, tomato, cilantro, and onion to season my omelet with made this trip worth it alone – so i immediately forgot about the faux tortilla and dug right in. The homefries were not my typical definition but the texture and flavor was really delicious. And I have to be honest I am a sucker for any place that gives me a little salad on my breakfast plate. The dressing was very light and added another layer of freshness to my meal.

The staff was also pretty friendly and although as in any New York establishment our table was dangerously close to the one beside ours (I’m always at risk for knocking something down with my coat or purse or butt!), i still felt that we had a nice private conversation and fairly attentive service. This place, with its meager facade and stylish decor seemed like a hipsters paradise in my little old Astoria. Good thing we woke up before the hipster rush – which seemed in full swing as we were finishing up.

fatty's exterior.

fatty's exterior.

welcome at fatty's.

welcome to fatty's. watch your step though, it's wobbly!

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

