hell’s kitchen flea.

What is it about a flea market that makes time just vanish as I’m perusing rusty hand tools I’ll never need or debating if I should buy someone else’s album full of browning black and white photos? After a trip to the Garment District my husband, expert goose-chaser, spotted tents in the distance and off we went to see what fried foods and 5 for $20 pashminas might await us but in an unexpected twist we’d found the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market! How classic is that? On second thought I am thinking the goose-chaser in question probably knew we’d “stumble” upon this wandering delight and that’s why he originally agreed to visit the garment district!

I spent many a summer’s day and weekend at flea markets growing up with my parents. My sisters and I wandered aimlessly for hours on end among trinkets and tube socks. No matter how old I am, it just never gets old. There is always a discovery waiting to be fondled and a haggle to be had. One thing this flea was sorely lacking was a good turkey leg. Seriously, don’t they sell turkey legs in this town at festivals and fleas? I’m not sure I’ve spotted a single one yet.

Peruse some of my favorite finds below.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

books. Hell's Kitchen Flea. oh the wonders inside.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

buttons. hell's kitchen flea. i still regret not buying them all. also, with the garmetn district within view, i was surprised not to find oodles of discount garb.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

violin. sax. transformer. hell's kitchen flea. i am in love with the color and juxtoposition of the objects in this photo. i might print and frame it.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

silverware. hell's kitchen flea.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

camera equipment. hell's kitchen flea. the ancient video cameras were the best.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

blocks. hell's kitchen flea. my dad made blocks like these for us as kids and not so long ago, when his strenght was more than it is now, he made new sets for some of the grandkids in the family.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

pipe set. hell's kitchen flea.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

glass collection. hell's kitchen flea. this really drew my eye. for some reason i wanted the entire set of glassware. i bought none.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

cheap sunglasses and handbags. hell's kitchen flea. this is more like the flea markets i grew up at. i remember wandering and roaming aisles and aisles of tube socks and plastic trickets with some diamonds in the rough sprinkled in for good fun.

Hell's Kitchen Flea August 2011

fur and chains. hell's kitchen flea. this had the makings of a halloween costume for sure.

:)

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, locations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hell’s kitchen flea.

  1. Amy says:

    That violin photo is fantastic, definitely a framer!

    Love your blog as a fellow Texan-turned-NYer. :-)

    • clarissa says:

      Thanks Amy! How long have you been in NY? I’d love to get a fellow transplant’s suggestions on the city.

      • Amy says:

        We’ve been here a year and a half-ish (since January 2010). You seem to have done a great job of taking advantage of the city. I’d highly recommend (if you haven’t done them already): Accomplice: NY, play ping-pong at Tompkins Square Park, eat noodles and pork buns at Momofuku and Ippudo (I tend to stay around my neighborhood in the East Village!), and the best dessert in NYC = sticky toffee pudding at Schiller’s in the LES. Geez I love NYC! even though we’re planning our move back to Tejas :-)

Leave a Reply

