Feast of San Gennaro.

feast of san gennaro.

feast of san gennaro.

New York literally has a festival every day. I have done extensive research on this topic by browsing my New York essential tool: Time Out New York, so you can believe me. :) This past weekend marks the 2nd year in a row that I’ve attended one in particular. It’s my 1st, 2nd year at a festival!!! You know what that means right? It means that My New York anniversary is coming up.

feast of san gennaro. lights.

feast of san gennaro. lights.

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves though. The Feast of San Gennaro is pretty lively. My favorite part is that the restaurants in Little Italy set up temporary outdoor dining on the street! complete with raised floor, 1/2 walls and a roof, you know, in case it rains. Last year we were here on our 1st ever NY apartment hunting trip. We stayed in a stunning hotel in Battery Park City (thank you husband’s job), it was the first time I did and saw a lot of things. We were in sight of the World Trade Center and gained perspective of the footprint that had been uprooted in the city. We discovered the beauty of lower Manhattan and very quickly realized that it was likely WAAAAAAAAAAAAY out of our price range. And we met a friend from Texas and her boyfriend for dinner in Little Italy at the Feast of San Gennaro. I can’t remember which restaurant it was but I can distinctly recall the energy that was flowing through me at the prospect of our new life last September.

fest of san gennaro. man on stilts.

fest of san gennaro. man on stilts.

As I met up with my husband at the festival again this year after work I realized it was still there. I am still in love (with my husband and the city). Oh did I mention it was our anniversary too? I guess you can call us high school sweethearts, although I’m not a fan of that term. This week marks 15 years of our relationship. (have I dated myself enough yet?)

feast of san gennaro. gelato.

feast of san gennaro. gelato. did i mention there was gelato? there was a lot of it.

feast of san gennaro. singer.

feast of san gennaro. singer. stationed near diners trying to lure more people in?

Oh yeah, back to the Feast of San Gennaro! there were singers at some of the restaurants serenading the crowds (think airport hotel performers) but very entertaining. There was a man on stilts and another dressed as a cannoli celebrating 100 years of Ferrara’s Bakery. Lots of people were randomly saying “holy cannoli” I guess when you see a guy in a giant cannoli suit you just have to go there? There were tons of religious trinkets of which I purchased a couple for my mom as gifts. And more gelato than I’d ever seen before. Oh and zeppoles and sausage & peppers.

We had dinner at a cute place but sadly I wasn’t in love with my risotto. It irks me when I spend $25+ on a single plate and it doesn’t work out. The server asked me as he was taking our plates away how I liked it and I said it was “ok” and he was nice enough to send us a complimentary fruit plate. The free pears were my favorite item from our meal!

feast of san gennaro. appetizer.

feast of san gennaro. appetizer. there is a mushroom cap under all that cheese. I loved the proscuitto bits that were sprinkled around.

I kinda wanted to go into Ferrara’s to enjoy a strawberry shortcake but it was jam packed and I wasn’t interested in waiting for an hour. So I just browsed the displays they set up on the street.

feast of san gennaro. ferrara's 100 yr anniversary.

feast of san gennaro. ferrara's 100 yr anniversary.

I have been super curious about this New York delicacy. Paul went ahead and ordered a sandwich and we were not fans. I love peppers and onions but that sausage was kinda outside of my tastes. sweet & hot & we moved on.

feast of san gennaro. sausage.

feast of san gennaro. sausage.

NYPD was, of course, on patrol. I remember when I first arrived in New York I was startled by their imposing appearance. New York officers somehow seem more intimidating. But now, I almost don’t notice them. They are part of my world.

feast of san gennaro. nypd.

feast of san gennaro. nypd.

I don’t smoke. I have never smoked. and I will never smoke. and I don’t particularly enjoy minding my own business and inhaling smoke someone has just exhaled. it is gross. but this was interesting to watch.

feast of san gennaro. cigar roller guy.

feast of san gennaro. cigar roller guy.

Did I mention there was gelato at the festival? Seriously if I snapped a photo of every gelato stand I would have run out of space on my 4gb sd card! And you know I do not exaggerate. ever.

feast of san gennaro. more gelato.

feast of san gennaro. more gelato.

Oh and leave it to the Texas-transplants to find roasted corn and tacos! The first taco was sooo good I barely got a shot of it before inhaling it. The meat tasted like what you might find in a pork tamale! Brilliant. The chef of an Italian restaurant was apparently from Texas and decided it would be fun to go against the grain and serve tacos at an Italian festival! He even made his servers wear longhorn hats!

feast of san gennaro. taco.

feast of san gennaro. taco.

feast of san gennaro. roasted corn.

feast of san gennaro. roasted corn.

feast of san gennaro. tacos.

feast of san gennaro. tacos.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in events, everything i've blogged, food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feast of San Gennaro.

  1. Pingback: broadway flea. | Clarissa Explains New York

Leave a Reply

