thank you friday: apples, phones, lungs

apples for the picking.

apples for the picking. so that's where they come from.

So, I realize I’ve been an absentee blogger of late and I think a good way to return is with a Thankful Thursday post, but it is clearly Friday so we’ll adjust.  I’ve seen that this is a common theme among many bloggers and it always makes me very happy. So to summarize some of my recent adventures here is my thank you friday post, think of it as a cross between a tgif (because yay it’s friday) and a thankful Thursday. So read on and I might make you happy too…

I’m thankful for what seems like a million things right now, most recently for trains, buses, apples, and adventures. Although I LOVE living in New York City and all that it has to offer, I found myself having one of the best days and it all started with a Metro North Rail Road train ride to Poughkeepsie. The train and the bus that followed led to pregnant cows, a 3-day old calf, goats trying to eat my jacket, teeny tiny towns, antique-ing, apple picking and wine-tasting.

iphone 4s.

This is one of the last photos taken on my old 3gs. she was a good phone while she was my phone.

I am very thankful for my shiny new iPhone 4s, my super cute case and of course Siri. I bought the cutest iPhone case I could find. Normally, I opt for some dull black case, something super practical, and often nowhere near cute. So the new case makes me smile every time I see it. Siri also kind of rocks. I haven’t exactly found a practical use for her just yet (I don’t exactly have to schedule so many appointments that I can’t do them myself efficiently) but she makes me laugh. So far I pretty much just ask her questions about her and more often then not she refuses to respond and at least once she’s asked me if we can please just get back to work. The phone itself is also a super fast step up from my old 3gs.

this is what delicious is.

cherry pie from Hill Country Chicken.

I’m super thankful for cherry pie. I absolutely love cherry pie, a love that was passed to me from my father. And let’s just say neither one of us has particularly high end tastes, I seem to prefer the canned cherry pie stuff poured into a pre-made pie crust over most cherry pies I’ve tried over the years. BUT I pushed forward and opted to try the beautiful cherry pie at Hill Country Chicken (you might recall me blogging about Hill Country Barbeque? Well, the names sound similar ’cause the mastermind behind them is the very same) and to my great surprise, it was absolutely delicious. My face hurt from smiling so much as I ate it. And even now, weeks later, I am still yearning for another bite.

this meal was both super delicouls and a very pleasant surprise. thank you husband for being so awesome!

birthday sushi. yum.

Oh I’m thankful for a husband who has taste buds more akin to a 5 year old than my own and yet made the effort to find a restaurant that had an A and offered both sushi and General Tso’s Chicken.

There are no words to explain how brilliant this gift is.

this place saved my dad's life.

Finally and most importantly I am thankful for lungs, specifically my dad’s new lung. And while I’m at it I’m thankful for the donor and the donor family and the surgeons and the transplant coordinator that never gave up on my dad and for my mom who is the most amazing woman I’ll ever know and for airplanes and for cannulas and for oxygen concentrators and tanks and wheel chairs (and I’m super thankful my dad doesn’t need those last few anymore) and I’m thankful for super awesome ICU staff and I’m thankful for kind strangers and waiting rooms and hand sanitizer and the helicoptor pilots and neck pillows… you get the idea. My dad is alive and breathing on his own and it is more than amazing.

Dad.

Dad. This is the day he got home from the hospital. My sister texted me the photo and although the lighting is dim there is no mistaking that there isn't a cannula in sight. He is sitting and breathing on his own for the first time in a very long time. thank you.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, thank you friday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

