snowtober.

Snowtober came out of nowhere. I was on the phone with my dad discussing his latest PT visit and asking if he’d done his breathing exercises yet that morning when he asked about the snow. I told him there was absolutely no way it was gonna snow, it was just gonna be a blah day with cold rain, maybe late evening sleet and that we were going to stay in and watch movies. Just a few minutes after hanging up the phone giant flakes started falling, they fell quickly and they fell aplenty. We immediately decided that our day in would now be a day out, I called my dad in a rush and told him the good news:

me: Dad, omg it’s snowing! We are getting ready to go out! yay!
Dad:
Wait, now that it is snowing you are going out?
me:
Yeah! It’s no fun playing in the rain but playing in the snow is awesome!
Dad:
ok, have fun, watch out for the wind. be careful.

snowtober. sea lion.

snowtober. sea lion.

snowtober. polar bear.

snowtober. polar bear.

We were totally unprepared for the snow. I had to pull out a ton of stuff from our hall closet to find our snow boots and I left the house without an adequate scarf and I never found any of my knit caps. Regardless, we had a very vague plan of checking out the Central Park Pumpkin festival and then seeking out a new winter coat for me. I only have wool pea-coats which are great but not ideal for some outings. And of course we’d be goose-chasing. As we arrived at the park we decided to check out the zoo first. The long slow walk to the Zoo entrance was so peaceful save for the fallen branches and the kindly runner who warned us of other fallen and falling branches in the park. The Zoo staff had sullen looks on their faces that I interpreted as “I don’t want to be here” and “You are crazy for being here” but they let us in anyway and we delighted in the fallen snow and the sea lions and the polar bear. We made our way up the hill to the snow leopard area and had to duck under a giant fallen tree limb before someone came and said they were closing and we’d have to leave.

snowtober. downed tree.

snowtober. downed tree.

From the Zoo we headed north through the park with the intent of crossing to the West side before exiting. But even when we were in the Zoo we could see and hear the cracking and the trees shaking as branches collapsed under the weight of wet snow. As we walked the path the snow was heavy with moisture. The ground was full of puddles and snow alike. We took a few moments under one of the bridges to tweet and saw the Zoo gates being closed behind us. The cracking echoed through the trees and we saw downed branches the size of cars. Clearly conditions were such that the Pumpkin Fest must have been canceled. We decided for our own safety we’d have to leave the park. It was a lovely, if creepy stroll while it lasted.

snowtober. me.

snowtober. me.

The train delivered us to the West side and soon the puddles were inside my shoes. North Face had some great boots but my size wasn’t in stock. We did however get out of there with about $150 worth of goods. 2 pairs of gloves and one winter hat. North Face is pricey but the gloves are the fancy e-tip style that allows you to use your iphone touch screen without removing them. Eastern Mountain Sports offered a great coat selection but again not in my size. “Not in my size” is a theme in my life. I tried on a few mens coats but men are built differently than women. They have no hips and I need a coat that offers a button/zip option not just one or the other. I only glanced at the boots and coveted a few pairs but had already decided to wait on the North Face ones. Century 21 was smaller than I expected and both the coat and boot sections were a disappointment.

snowtober. pedestrian signal.

snowtober. pedestrian signal.

snowtober. new boots.

snowtober. new boots.

As we were deciding where to go next I realized that my socks were really wet. Last year’s winter boots just gave up entirely on this year’s first snow. I needed new boots asap. We doubled back to EMS and as I asked for a size I had to shamefully tell the sales girl, Elizabeth, that I’d also need new socks as my boots had sprung leaks. :( She was really great about it and I got over my boot shame quickly enough. She brought me the boots I asked for and I fell head over heals for the ones she suggested as my 2nd option. I didn’t even glance at the 3rd option, ok I glanced but clearly they were not for me. I opted for the muted black ones over the awesome two tone ones and practically skipped out of there with a smile plastered on my face. We ended up at Magnolia Bakery and actually got seats! I’m not on the cupcake bandwagon, or the super sweets bandwagon but their German Chocolate Cake is to die for. Literally, if you eat a whole slice you might slip into a sugar related coma. Luckily Paul was there to finish it off for me after he finished his… I don’t even know what he had, I was too consumed in my cake.

snowtober. no pumpkin fest.

snowtober. no pumpkin fest.

Anyway, Snowtober was one of those truly good days. There was no Pumpkin Fest for us this year but I mean there was snow, there was central park, there were animals, there was shopping, there was cake, and there was my silly husband. I won’t spoil it by mentioning how I found a piece of paper cooked into my burger at Big Nick’s Burger Joint. I will mention that we went to the Coco MoCA and it was awesome. Blog tomorrow about the hijinks involved….

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, locations, observations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

