thank you friday: 1, free, friends, nyc.

lock screen.

lock screen. Yes this is my actual lock screen on my phone. I love this particular photo which I took in my very own kitchen. That ceramic skull is one of my most prized possessions. I bought it in San Antonio a year ago before we moved to New York. It's a great touchstone.

Today’s blog post is sponsored by the number 1. The number one is the first step toward something. We all might start at some zero spot but we move forward, each day we take our first step out of bed, that first sip of coffee, and in tiny ways we are constantly beginning something new and amazing. I don’t often take the time or appreciate the perspective to allow myself to see it that way. Sometimes I feel like, “this again, I did this yesterday” but today I’m making sure I take it all in. Today is the ultimate palindrome of dates (you know if we ignore the pesky “20” in our current year, whatevs). Some (lots) of people think it’s silly that so many of us are so happy with the date. Really, it’s just a date, there will be a new one tomorrow, but that’s what is amazing, there really will be a new one tomorrow full of it’s own tiny and huge adventures. Anyway, it’s fun and as far as I can tell it’s making lots of people happy and silly at the same time. So a super duper thank you for the number 1 and it’s other numbered friends for making me smile and appreciate the new beginning each step gives me.

I’m thankful for chance encounters (even if they’re with my husband). There are gazillions of people in New York City at any given moment. We’ve been over the statistics of how many are on the train and all that before. Anyway, it happens more often than I would have expected that my husband and I end up on the same train just a car away from one another without planning it. His commute is shorter and our schedules differ (mine is standard and his can vary widely). Anyway, last night he had to work late and I opted to hang out with a friend. Then I texted him when my train surfaced in Queens and a minute later he texted that he’d just arrived in Queens too, he was just one train behind mine so I waited and we got to walk home together. It was awesome.

free stuff rules.

free stuff tastes so amazing.

I’m thankful for free stuff. It makes me so very happy. Last night my friend C and I went to Jack Rabbit Sports on the Upper West Side to check out their 2012 Marathon spiel. She’s an awesome runner (you’ll never hear her admit it though) but a recent injury sidelined her (she’s in a boot and probably can’t finish her 9+1 for 2012) so she was getting kinda bummed about her prospects and I thought this would cheer her up. It did. AND we got free JRS Tech-Ts to boot. Who doesn’t love a good FREE tech-T??? I do and on an awesome side note, I got to hear the infamous Coach Cane speak (he coached Aliontherun). He walked right by me, is it weird that I was in total awe? I’m cool with that. Oh, this free stuff thing is a twofer keep reading… later at The Lunchbox, the owner, who is this really great guy and always has a smile for everyone that passes by, sent over some free chips and salsa while we waited for our food and it was the absolute greatest gift ever. I mean, hey it was totally unexpected (I knew the tech-T was coming) and totally free and to top it off the homemade chips were freaking delicious. Free stuff rules.

our view at jrs.

our view at jrs.

lauren's 1/2 medal.

Lauren's most recent medal from the St. Louis 1/2. She is amazing. (I hope you don't mind I swiped this photo from your twitter feed)

Friends and compliments are awesome. My friend Lauren (who I haven’t physically see in person but we tweet and she beats me at Words With Friends constantly since she moved to Chicago and I moved to New York) recently tweeted to me “I want to live your life, even just for one day” and I was blown away. I don’t know what prompted that but I was humbled. She made my day and more. The thing is, she is someone I admire! She is a runner, she perseveres in the face of challenges that weaker people would crumble at, and she’s pursuing her graduate degree in a field she is passionate about. She is amazing. I do love my life and I do try to enjoy our city as much as possible. There are ups and downs but even my friend C from last night is constantly telling me that she’s in awe of my relationship with my husband. I try to tell her we’re normal. Every moment isn’t roses and awesomeness but we know how lucky we are and we make an effort to constantly remind one another of that.

Poet’s walk is ridiculously picturesque. Since I mentioned how much I love my city I thought I’d share a recent photo from a walk down poet’s walk. I dare you to get a bad photo here. It is impossible. Every time we walk down this path (almost any path in Central park) I am filled with a sense of awe. I can frequently be heard saying “I can’t believe we live here.” Strangers probably think I just arrived yesterday, but no, it’s been a year…

poet's walk.

poet's walk. November 5, 2011. i love fall.

What are you thankful for???  sweater weather perhaps? snail mail? free stuff? (oh wait, I’m just making another list.)

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, thank you friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thank you friday: 1, free, friends, nyc.

  1. Pingback: Renegade Craft Fair 2012 | Clarissa Explains New York

Leave a Reply

