December already?

Today is Monday, December 5, 2011. I am typing this out because, then maybe I’ll believe it, and figure out where the November blur went. Seriously. Did I even blog about going to see Girl in a Coma at Webster Hall? I met Phanie Diaz before the show, apparently she likes to watch the crowd before they get to watch her. The show was amazing by the way, I’m pretty sure Nina’s crazy eyes pierced me. Joan Jet stopped by to check on her protégés and  getting a little taste of San Antonio while in New York is always good.

Phanie's drum set.

Phanie's drum set.

This is the best picture I could get once I realized that it was Jane Henson.

Oh and we got to see The Muppets a week before it opened in theaters thanks to my favorite Museum in Astoria, the MOMI, of course. Jim Henson’s wife, Jane and their daughter were both in attendance to honor his legacy. Jane looked a little like a Fraggle. The movie was muppetastic.

Thanksgiving kinda snuck up on me but there as turkey and football and leftovers. I vaguely recall making a cherry pie, whose remains may or may not still be tucked all the way in the back of my fridge, eek. We went out to see the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade balloons the day before the parade which was on my list of things to do from last year.  Those were great.

Holiday lights and window decor are going up all around me and yet I remain shocked at the date. I’ve been a little buried in reading at work lately that writing hasn’t really come into play but I’ll update this week with Rockettes, Polar Bears, and everyone’s favorite: holiday markets!

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, observations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

