amnh membership.

February is nearly over and I don’t think I’ve blogged this year. It is definitely not that I am out of things to blog about but more that I’ve just been busy or distracted (new year = new job, more on that later). I can’t possibly expect to fill in the gap of the last two months in one blog so instead I’ll just talk about this past weekend. We went to the American Museum of Natural History. I love that you can enter straight from the subway, it’s one of those “only in new york” kind of things. Anyway, we opted to become museum members so that we can visit more frequently. And it was awesome. But what I really want to mention is that today’s Groupon offer was for… yep, AMNH membership! Ok, ok, our joint membership was actually super affordable at just under $100 for the year but still the fact that Groupon is offering that same membership for $60 today really irks me!

Untitled

Kidding aside. We had a blast. Our day was mostly about the special exhibit, Beyond Planet Earth: The Future of Space Exploration and and the Planetarium. We had to get timed tickets for both and we pretty much got them back to back. The museum had a special app for the Beyond Planet Earth exhibit which of course I downloaded and used while there. by scanning certain images we were able to see more detailed 3D versions through our phone and then we could “collect” them like some kind of virtual passport. However silly it sounded, I collected them all eagerly. But I also enjoyed the exhibit in general without the app. I even learned something: tortillas are an acceptable food to eat in space because of the lack of crumbs. Here’s a snap of some other ok foods:

chicken, brownie, m&m's and other things you can eat in space.

The Planetarium was kind of amazing. I had not been to one since we lived in San Antonio and I was probably in high school or maybe college. BUT I really don’t think that compared. Whoopi Goldberg’s soothing voice really did take us on a Journey to the Stars.

If it is not too late I suggest everyone get the Groupon. it is so worth it.

Also, today as I was telling someone about the museum day, they said they’d like to be my 3rd wheel from now on. It was a nice compliment.

Oh and no doubt we wandered through the park and I swear I sat on a bench I’d never sat on before and got a view of an area I frequent but from a totally different perspective. I love Central Park. We saw a whole family of red birds, fluttering about. Let’s face it. Spring is here. I know the news is calling for light snow/sleet tomorrow but let’s be honest, Winter is over before it even started.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, locations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

