Texas. Big Apple BBQ.

BBQ Recap:

We spent a recent Saturday at the Big Apple BBQ 2012 in Madison Square Park. Here’s the recap…

My nice fresh out of the shower smell was promptly over powered by the Ed Mitchell smokers. I was sadly in line alone and  had to make small talk with the others in line with me as we awaited the 11:00 am hour when the food could finally be sold. Why was I alone? Oh, you know ’cause my husband ditched me in favor of another line and in order to maximize our food intake by splitting up. Ok, whatever, I know its brilliant to maximize our bbq intake by dividing and conquering but still. I am not a pulled pork super fan so I wasn’t surprised when the Ed Mitchell pulled turkey made me happier than the pulled pork. Pork, however, might be my favorite meat in general, I just don’t need it to be totally pulverized.

Untitled

As I snapped this photo I was literally in a cloud of smoke.

Untitled

Obligatory NYC crowd shot.

Untitled

This year the Checkered Pig blew me away with their fall off the bone delicious ribs and super amazing cole slaw. I am not really a slaw girl and generally assume that the sides at these events are just there for show (I saw a lot of industrial sized cans of pre-cooked baked beans behind some counters) but this cole slaw was special. Not the heavy handed cabbage dunked in mayo variety.

Untitled

Seriously, the cole slaw was so good it deserved a solo photo!

Another rib/slaw combo came close to the Checkered Pig but there was no real competition in my mind. I can’t remember the name of their booth but I do know it was near the Fried Pies…

Untitled

this is not a photo of fried pies. for some reason that photo wouldn’t transfer from my iPhoto so I posted a photo of the 2nd best ribs.

We tried three varieties of The Fried Pies which were not as good as I remembered from last year and yet still pretty good. The fact that I am in love with the Hill Country Chicken  Double Cherry Pie with Streusel Topping didn’t help their cause, nor the fact that I had just had the HCF pie the day before. Oh we also had to sample The Salt Lick, whose line was insanely long and yet the food was not up to par. The brisket was dry and the sausage was, no that was pretty good. Up here we really only find italian sausage so this taste of home was totally welcome but I couldn’t finish it because I had already eaten too much.

Untitled

Here’s a photo of my husband (I am quoting him): “BBQ bath salts crazy” on me

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in events, everything i've blogged, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Texas. Big Apple BBQ.

  1. Pingback: john brown smokehouse. 2. | Clarissa Explains New York

Leave a Reply

