Three Weddings and a Funeral.

I went dress shopping this afternoon for a wedding I’ll be attending this weekend. Yes, I realize it’s a bit late in the game for this kind of thing and yet that’s where I find myself. I did’t take a dress home, but I did take a pair of cute shoes home. Not heels just tiny wedges to wear to work. Back to the wedding, a work friend from my new-ish office is marrying his partner and was kind enough to include me in the invite list. The wedding is at a country club just north of the city. At first I was super excited to be going and honored to be invited then it finally set in that I don’t remember the last wedding I went to. I am not one of those girls that is a bridesmaid in 10 weddings before she even turns 30. Maybe I don’t have deep personal female friends or something I don’t know and I somehow don’t really know a lot of people who have gotten married recently.

Dress options below. I promise the dresses fit nicely. But now I’m not so sure of the patterns.

]UntitledUntitled

*Caveat, within the last two weeks, two people in my life did, in fact get married in Texas in two different ceremonies. One was for one of my former students (actually two former students married each other). Kat is brilliant and I am so super sad to have missed her big day. The other was for my niece (who is actually a year older than me). We grew up like sisters living in the same house, we even shared a bedroom for the better part of our adolescence then we grew up and apart. We are not best friends or anything and I am positive I wasn’t missed at her wedding (our family is ginormous) but I was still happy for her and her long time other half and their daughter to be joined as a family in that way.

Ok, back to dress shopping. I am horrible in heels. Or shoes all together. My feet are so wide and awkward and they swell at the slightest amount of walking that I just usually forgo cute shoes for functional shoes (i.e. flats). But this is New York. So, not only have I not been to a wedding recently, but I also have never been to a New York wedding (much less a same sex wedding but that’s actually beside the point). So as I texted with one of my best friends in Texas about my dress shopping experience and sent her some iPhone photos of me in a Macy’s dressing room I was trying to figure out what one wears to a New York country club wedding that will be held outdoors weather permitting. I found a Ralph Lauren design that seemed to cover up some overly curvy areas in two different floral patterns that I finally, mostly decided on but the shoes is what froze me. What shoes would I wear with either dress? Ugh. So after a while of toiling I put them both back on the rack. Lame. And went to the shoe section to find shoes then buy the dress that would match the shoes. Brilliant right? Except I already told you I left with only a pair of work flats. No wedding shoes and no wedding-guest-dress.

If it wasn’t bad enough that I am turning this work friend’s wedding into my own personal fashion dilemma, here’s a little more shallow to add to this post. My legs currently look frightful. Not ’cause they are pale or flabby or oddly tanned (all of which are pretty accurate and contradictory) but rather because they were attacked by mosquito’s at a funeral we went to upstate this weekend. My husband’s cousin who he idolized as a kid when their mothers were each going through some major medical issues passed away. It was a massive heart attack while riding his motorcycle, they said it was instant and that the crash didn’t make a difference (but really this last bit probably doesn’t make a difference to anyone who loved him because he is gone nonetheless). I never met him but I feel like I knew him now and I also feel sad to have not known him before. My husband and his cousin were hoping to get together this summer so we could meet his wife and daughters. His wife was amazing. His daughters were strong. I was in awe of his family and of how true his friends were. I hope to one day be remembered as fondly as he is by so many people. I hope to leave a positive impression on the world after I am gone. Anyway, as I sat on their deck eating a hodge podge of neighbor and church pot luck type food considering my life and what I want out of it and in total awe at his wife, I was attacked by every mosquito in upstate New York. So, my legs look ridiculous. Like my legs looked when I was 10 years old running around the back yard and not knowing any better than to avoid the bugs. I’m using a cream and a spray to keep me from scratching and hopefully to heal these bites but so far they look bright red and at least nickel sized. Any suggestions on getting rid of these icky spots before Saturday are totally welcome. My friend from Texas suggested Tea Tree Oil, Resinol, and something she said I could find at feed stores. I love you Jess but seriously, I am not buying my ointments at a feed store. (stay tuned, next thing you know I’ll be eating those words.)

Long story short, although I really want to wear a dress and be cute and fashionable at this wedding, I also don’t’ want to distract the grooms as they walk down the aisle with my spotted legs. The dress dilemma continues and now anyone reading this knows how neurotic and shallow I am. good night! (I had to put a light hearted spin on the funeral subject.)

tiny motel we stayed at. Can you believe they had free wifi and we didn’t get axe murdered in our sleep? Mostly cause I didn’t really sleep. I imagine that’s a prerequisite for the axe murdering in your sleep. I may have never mentioned before I don’t do well away from the city. Any city, really, I need to be near lights and sounds and people always.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Weddings and a Funeral.

  1. I love your writing style! Have always wondered what it would be like to live in NY for a non NYers point of view – hope to get there one day :). Happy blogging and hope the mosquito bites clear up.

    • clarissa says:

      Thank you for the compliments! I needed the pick me up. I feel both like I’ve always been a new yorker and like I am an alien in a foreign land every day! The city is an amazing place to visit as there is always some craziness going on. In times square this morning there were thousands of people doing yoga in the street, it was fantastic. thanks for reading.

  2. CoteWrites says:

    I hear you about the bug bites, my dear – sorry! I know this doesn’t fit in with your whole summer-dress fantasy, but I think a pair of dress pants and a ruffly blouse or a pants suit would be perfectly classy and acceptable wedding attire. The bonus is: flats look so much nicer/fancier with pants (at least in my opinion). I’d vote for pants, colorful jewelry and maybe some flat sandals with a metallic sheen. Then again, maybe your big bites will clear up quicker than mine do. ;) I’ll keep my fingers crossed for that option. :)

    • clarissa says:

      Jennifer thanks for the suggestions. You are probably right and yet I’ll still probably make the wrong decision. I feel like I am always under-dressed or under-accessorized. In the Starbucks line this morning there was a girl wearing a very simple outfit that I could see myself wearing it but she looked fabulous and I think it was the accessories that put her over the top.

  3. Jessica says:

    So how did it go? You know other than the lotion feet? FYI I thought of you as I put corona on a bite tonight ;).

Leave a Reply

