Renegade Craft Fair 2012

The day after the wedding we were supposed to do the GOGI: Get Outside on Governor’s Island 10K. However, after missing the earlier train and maybe too much wine/champagne it didn’t happen. BUT we still got out of the apartment for the Renegade Craft Fair which was held directly across from the Brooklyn Flea, so of course, we did them both.

I am one of those girls that doesn’t leave the house without sunblock because I tan so easily. Not on this day. We were out in the blazing sun with little to no tree cover/shade. I quickly dehydrated (despite purchasing lots of water) and I also turned a very unattractive shade of red. It wasn’t my best day but I tried to enjoy it nonetheless. Rather than bore you with my sun exposure any longer I’ll just post some highlight photos of our day.

view of manhattan.

view of manhattan.

There were a lot of things at the Renegade Craft Fair that I’d never seen before which is pretty awesome. For example we bought a chalkboard T-shirt for our goddaughter.

replicator.

replicator. I don’t understand this 3D printing stuff.

all the hats in the world would not have made me feel better about how hot it was.

RCF 2012

look at all those smart people wearing hats.

This idea is not new, in fact it seems we see this concept at every fair we go to but they are still pretty cool. We each picked out one of these little books. No clue what is going in them yet but we own them now.

book journals.

book journals.

One thing that constantly surprises me about New Yorkers is that they will literally settle on any bit of grass and make it their personal lawn or beach.

sun-bathers.

sun-bathers.

coat rack clock

coat rack clock

These letters were arranged in the word TIG which I thought was pretty cool since the only Tig I know is Tig Notaro. I recently read on her Facebook page that she is moving to NYC for some fancy new opportunity in television. I am looking forward to being best friends with her. Obviously, we will be best friends.

tig

tig.

I almost bought this mask. But when I touched it I realized it was plastic and not ceramic which is my preference. You are surely aware of my affinity for the style.

mask.

mask.

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged, locations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

