Houseguests.

View from the top of the MET

View from the top of the MET.

I’ve had a very early summer full of houseguests and basketball games. I’ll split the story up into a few parts but for now here was my guest schedule:

1st guest stayed for 5 days—this was a pretty last minute decision to help her get back to normal after some big changes at home. Then we had 2 days off to reset. 2nd guests (friends from Texas) stayed for 4 days. We had another 2 day break. Then a 3rd and very last minute guest stayed for 4 days to recover from a breakup. Add the Spurs games during the NBA playoff and then the NBA Finals to that mix and I’ve basically been running a bed and breakfast. I’m exaggerating, but still.

Since I was planning for Jess & Mike’s visit to be further out before I realized Roxy was coming to town I didn’t have time to pick up some of the essentials I ordered them from soap.com. I even made sure to get some of those tub tread thingies since the last time Jess visited she nearly slipped in our shower. Luckily we actually keep our place fairly clean so although we did do extra cleaning it wasn’t too intense. We’d also been dreaming of getting some accent chairs and knew we needed new dining chairs (we only had 2 before) so we did make time to pick up some of those items in time.

Guest 1 – Roxy. It started with some truly New York City-style dreary rain the day she arrived. I met her at Penn after work and we tried to take the train home but some serious train delays led us back up to the surface and through the crowds to another train. We stopped at Macy’s on the way for some shoe oogling, needless to say Roxy’s mind was blown (have you seen the entire floor dedicated to women’s shoes at the Herald Square Macy’s?). The long weekend was in the 60s most days with lows dropping to the 40s on the rainy mornings.  In no particular order we had BBQ, went for mani/pedis in SOHO, went to the MET, had dinner on the roof of my building overlooking Manhattan, made Tex-Mex for dinner, and we went to Smorgasburg, had a celebrity sighting, crossed the Brooklyn bridge, went to brunch, baked a pie, encountered a life-size X-Wing made of legos in Times Square, spotted tons of brides (one of my favorite New York pastimes) and cheered for the Spurs. It was actually a really great time and more relaxing than I was anticipating.

Then we had just two days to wash the sheets, relax, and start over before the arrival of our friends, Jessica & Mike from Texas…

Mani/Pedi

Mani/Pedi.

Flight of ice cream at Hill Country

ice cream flight at Hill Country BBQ.

pecan pie.

Roxy made us a pie. (please disregard my dirty oven)

About clarissa

I'm a girl from Texas living in New York since October 2010. I fell in love with New York City on a business trip here in April 2009. I had to drag my husband along for the ride at first but just a few hours on his own while I was at the conference and he was completely on board. He began texting me mundane things like the price of milk and the quality of produce so that I could see it wasn't so much different than Austin. What are the chances that after just one week in New York two people would leave with the exact same resolution to one day live there? We did. Just about 18 months later we signed a lease on a new apartment and started a new chapter in our lives. This blog will hopefully give me a chance to document our adventures in New York as well as to share my perspective on the same using photos and stories. enjoy.
This entry was posted in everything i've blogged. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

